Coronavirus Travel Updates

coronavirus travel updates

Written by HMI

July 10, 2020

Table of Content (click to skip ahead)

  1. China Travel and Embassy Updates
  2. Saudi Arabia Travel and Embassy Updates
  3. Qatar Travel and Embassy Updates
  4. UAE Embassy Updates
  5. South Korea Coronavirus Update
  6. Nigeria Embassy Update
  7. Kuwait Embassy London Update
  8. Algeria Travel and Embassy Updates
  9.  British Foreign Ministry (FCO)
  10. Countries exempt from quarantine for the UK
  11. Countries that have 14 Day Quarantine when arriving in the UK

With such volatile times for countries, economies and the general public everyone is wondering what is happening with travel plans?

The travel and tourism sector plays a huge role in globalised economies, and getting the correct balance between caution and travel freedom is a huge factor for most countries across the globe.

In the article below, we have taken information directly from government and official sources advising people on the different travel restrictions impacting some of the most popular travel destinations worldwide. Keep reading to find out about if you are allowed to travel to a certain country and the updates from their embassies in terms of getting permission to travel abroad.

Travel Updates

China Travel and Embassy Updates

As restrictions ease across the UK, the Chinese Embassy has announced that it will be opening up their Chinese Visa Application Service Center (CVASC) on the 16th July 2020.

They will operate on Tuesday and Thursday’s only.

Pre-booked appointments are now required.

Applications with an Invitation Letter (PU), an Invitation Letter (TE) or a Verification Letter of Invitation from Foreign Affairs Office or Department of Commerce of the provincial People’s Government will now be accepted. Applicants without permission from the Chinese Government to engage in economic, trade, scientific or technological activities will not be accepted.

Consular legalisation is now available, contact us for more information to get your documents legalised or begin your visa by clicking here. China visa.

Saudi Arabia Coronavirus Travel Updates

The Saudi Arabian Embassy in London has issued a new statement concerning their pledge to both bolstering a strong Saudi economy, meanwhile protecting the health interests of the people involved.

The Saudi government has outlined new strict measures to stop the spread of COVID-19. Meanwhile, new government-backed schemes helping Saudi Workers and employers has been launched to blunt the negative economic impacts.

Saudi Arabian Embassy COVID-19 Update

The Saudi Arabia Embassy in London, opened up this Monday with limited functioning. Certain services have resumed.

The Saudi Arabian Consulate has issued a new Coronavirus form which all Saudi Arabia visa applicants must fill out. To get your Saudi Arabia visa and updated COVID-19 form, please go to this page and click “start your visa”.

Qatar Travel and Embassy Updates

The Qatar Embassy in London announced that on Monday the 8th of July, it will be resuming all of its consular services.

Changes due to COVID-19 mean that all services will have to be conducted through the post. These include document legalisation, attestation, police clearance and visa services. The embassy has stated that due to coronavirus it will not accept in-person applications.

To book your legalisation with the Qatar embassy or for any other service relating to the Qatar Embassy in London please click here.

UAE Embassy Updates

The UAE embassy in London has now reopened its doors for attestation and legalisation services. It is complying with the novel coronavirus medical suggestions and is implementing strategies to quell the spread of the virus further.

If you require document attestation for the UAE, click the link here: UAE Attestation

South Korea Coronavirus Updates

The British Foreign and Common Wealth Offices recommends only essential travel to South Korea. However, the Korean government has worked extremely well to drop the cases of coronavirus drastically.

The South Korean embassy has re-opened its offices for processing of legalisation and visa services, following the easing of UK restrictions. Candidates are required to perform a COVID-19 test which can be processed with this link. COVID-19 test.

Click here to begin your South Korean Visa.
Click here to begin your South Korean attestation/legalisation.

Nigeria Embassy Update

The Nigerian high commission in London has announced that it will suspend all activity until further notice.

Kuwait Embassy London Update

The Kuwait Embassy in London has resumed limited services and will begin operations once again. For more information regarding Kuwait click here.

Algeria Travel and Embassy Updates

The Algerian Embassy in London has announced that it will suspend all activity until further notice. Services are only open to Algerian nationals.

British Foreign Ministry (FCO)

Following the outbreak of Coronavirus, the UK government shutdown all legalisation processing.

Fortunately, the offices have reopened once again. However, they are limited to registered business verified by the FCO. We are one of the registered companies that has permission to deal directly with the FCO.

To get your documents legalised by the FCO, begin your application by clicking the link: FCO Legalisation.

Countries Exempt From Quarantine for the UK


The UK has outlined countries that will be exempt from the 14 day quarantine upon returning to the UK. We have listed those countries below.

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City, Vietnam.

Countries that have 14 Day Quarantine When Arriving in the UK

Canada, the US and much of Central or South America.

Countries in Africa, the Middle East and most of Asia are also excluded.

Travellers from Sweden, Portugal, Russia and anywhere else not on the list will also have to quarantine.

For information regarding travel updates from the UK government, visit the following website:

To get your personal or business applications started again, whether it be legalisation, visa processing or medicals contact us and one of our team will be in touch with you to advise you on the most up to date information available. Click here to find out more.

You May Also Like…